A Story of My Childhood: Serui Undercover (PART 1 )

Hi folks! I was just blog-walking and stopping by an interesting post from a good friend of mine. Finally I decided to write this post: a story of my childhood. πŸ™‚

Talking about my childhood is always interesting, just like talking about everybody else’s, I guess. Up until now, I always find it wonderful to be a child. Children tend to build their world of imagination amazingly; though most (if not all) hardly manage to keep it up as times go and pass by.

I was once a kid with a β€˜wild’ world of imagination, just like every single child born into this earth. πŸ˜€ I was born in a small yet beautiful island in eastern Indonesia: Yapen Island, Papua, (or also known as Irian Jaya province). It was just really blissful having met many different people with multiple characteristics, beliefs, and cultural values right there. Living about 10 years in Papua surely brings unforgettable memory for me. That’s why I felt so uneasy when I moved to Java for the first time. I still remember how annoying I was in the very first weeks of my arrival in Java. I always complained to Mom and Dad, begging them to bring me back to my hometown, Serui. I just thought living in Java would be too cruel, as I should become apart from my close friends in Serui; and the worse, I need to adjust speaking in Javanese, which I knew nothing about it, at all. He he.. Back then, I was still really childish, ummm, you know, I was just a kid. πŸ˜›

Well, I actually have my apparent reason why my love to Serui is just so deep that I couldn’t even think of being apart from it for the rest of my life. (Okay, I’m a bit exaggerating now :p) I love Serui, simply because its beauty is such everlasting yet unforgettable. πŸ™‚ FYI, Serui is a small developing capital city of Yapen Waropen, one of the districts in Irian Jaya Tengah province. Back then, I lived in a cozy place where it’s truly easy to get access to public places like airport, post office, and my school. And it’s not that far to reach the traditional market, and the harbor as well. I used to walk or cycling to get to those places, which cost me no money at all. Ha ha. πŸ˜€

In Sunday morning, I used to go jogging and mainly I spent my time in the airport. Since it’s a small airport, there were only small number of airplanes departed there, which means that was the best place for me and my pals to do some exercises. I was a sprinter, and a good runner, at that time. I used to run from one corner to the other, and turn around till I got really tired. (Back then, I was really sporty! :() I also had my very first experience riding my bike in this airport. What a lovely place, for real! πŸ˜€

The air and weather in Serui is so fresh and clean. Maybe because its population is not that dense like that of Java. And one thing for sure, its natural beauty is of no comparison! :O You gotta travel there to find it for yourself! πŸ˜€

Pantai Pasir Putih Aromarea, Serui

I still remember the first time I got to this beach. The road was so, wow, terrible! I endlessly kept praying during the trip, and finally could really feel relieved after seeing the beauty of this beach. It’s damn cool, guys! πŸ˜€

The Beautiful Sawandori Lake
Near Harbour, Fish Market
Serui Traditional Market at night

*to be continued… πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “A Story of My Childhood: Serui Undercover (PART 1 )

  1. This is my very first time dropping in your blog. wow, I never thought that you were born there! Nice post and great pics. Wish I was there.

    -mustikaratnapratiwi-

  2. Haa,, thanks Mbak Tiwi uda mampir πŸ˜€

    i suddenly miss my hometown so damn much.. 😦
    pengin ke sana tapi berat di ongkos, jadi yaa,, dicicil dulu nostalgianya lewat tulisan ini mbak. hehe

  3. Awawa. . . .masa kcilmu indah syekaleEe. . .
    Pengen k papua dah. Org yg mghabiskn masa kcilny d desa cnderung memiliki mem0ri yg lbh indah

  4. Thanks Mb Ditra. πŸ™‚

    Hmmm, bicara pengalaman masa kecil emang gak ada habisnya deh. Bersyukur banget aku sempat mengalami ‘hidup nomaden’, banyak banget pengalaman yg didapet.
    Share yours too, ya mbak. Kan km juga pernah ‘hidup nomaden’ kayak aku.. Pasti deru dah! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

